How Do You Get An Uncontested Divorce In Texas
As mentioned, if you and your divorcing spouse are able to, this is the way to go in effort to reduce the cost of divorce. To get an uncontested divorce, you must be able to answer yes to each of the following questions:
- Have you or your spouse resided in Texas for at least 6 months?
- Have you or your spouse lived in the county where you are filing for divorce for at least 3 months?
- Do you and your spouse agree on all issues in your divorce?
Usually the answer to the first two is an easy, yes. However, its the last question that will determine whether your divorce can be uncontested or not.
If you find that the answer is, no,maybe, or not sure, then you may have a contested divorce on your hands. Additionally, if children are involved, then agreements on custody and child support would need to be made as well.
Rule of thumb: If you can come to mutual agreements on all major issues with the other parent, youll likely save on cost. Doing so will reduce the need for litigation, which can increase costs because more time is then needed to resolve your case.
Are You Getting Divorced In Texas
Understanding how much a divorce costs in Texas can help you budget for an upcoming divorce. There are a lot of different decisions to be made when youre dissolving a marriage, and it can feel pretty overwhelming.
Getting divorced can be a stressful and costly process, but by learning as much as you can ahead of time you can help keep your expenses low and reduce how long the divorce drags out.
Of course, it isnt always possible to get divorced on good terms. After all, there are likely disagreements that led you and your spouse to pursue a divorce in the first place. However, if you both agree that youd like to avoid an outcome where you are both on the hook for thousands of dollars of fees, you might also decide to find ways to settle major issues without the help of lawyers or the courts.
At TexasDivorceLaws.org, we believe that the best way to deal with getting a divorce is to understand the rights and responsibilities you have under the law. When you have a firm grasp of Texas Family Law, it means that you have the best possible chance of receiving an outcome that serves your best interest.
For more resources about family law in Texas, check out our blog about marriage, divorce, and family law in Texas.
What Does The Average Divorce Cost
The average divorce cost is a relative term. Different factors determine whether the cost of divorce will be on the high or low end of the spectrum. Things that factor into the cost of a divorce include:
- Where you’re getting divorced
- Whether you’re using a lawyer for your entire divorce or only part of it
- Whether you have children
- Whether you’re doing your divorce online
- Whether you’re using mediation or collaborative divorce
- Whether you agree with your spouse about major issues
- Whether you need to go to trial
You May Like: How Long To Be Married For Alimony
Which Divorce Forms Are Needed To File For Divorce In Texas
Divorce forms prepared online to file for an uncontested no-fault divorce In Texas:
- Civil Case Information Sheet
- Waiver of Service and Consent
- Agreed Final Decree of Divorce
- Simple Filing Instructions
If there are minor children from the marriage, the following forms will also be prepared online:
- Divorce forms for child custody, visitation and child support
Im Seeing Prices For Divorce Attorneys In San Antonio Ranging From $149
First, any prices that are $0.00-$299 are not likely from lawyers. The ads may look like legal ads but are likely not from attorneys.
Ads for less expensive divorce lawyers, advertising things such as fixed fees or flat fees are for cases where the spouses in the divorce do not have to go to a jury or bench trial to fight over children assets or debts.
Once you start looking into prices for divorce cases where mediation, counseling or trial from the lawyer is required, there is very little price information on the web. This is for a number of reasons:
Don’t Miss: How Much Does An Amicable Divorce Cost
How Long Does A Divorce Take In Texas
First of all, to finalize a Texas divorce, it takes 60 days after a petition is filed. A divorce will be final as soon as the judge pronounces it in open court and signs the divorce decree.
Suppose the spouses dont agree to come to a settlement. Then it moves to a courtroom trial, which may take from six months to one year or sometimes even more. The process and divorce cost of Texas depends on the complexity and degree of conflict involved.
Here, the court will start by presuming that all the assets and properties owned by either of the spouses are community property. That means: owned equally by both the spouse. Suppose any of the spouses have separate property. In that case, they have to prove it by tracing it under Clear and Convincing Evidence.
The court will consider everything and divide the community property into both the people in the right manner. In simple words, its a 50-50 split.
However, in some rare cases like unequal earning or fault in a relationship, it might affect property division. To know all about Texas divorce costs, you will need a lawyer who is an expert and can help you understand better.
Getting Divorce In Texas Is Affordable
SAMPLE LEGAL FEES FOR AN AGREED DIVORCE IN DALLAS OR TARRANT COUNTY:
- If you do not own real estate and have no children who are minors $495.00
- If you own one home and have no children who are minors $695.00
- If you do not own real estate but you and your spouse have children $795.00
- If you own one home and you and your spouse have children $895.00
PLEASE NOTE: The above fees are for cases in Dallas and Tarrant County only. Prices vary in neighboring counties. Fees may also vary based on the complexity of your property and/or custody provisions. Fees charged by the courts are not included above.
Read Also: New York State Council On Divorce Mediation
Agreement On The Legal Reason For Divorce
As in all states, you need a legally accepted reason for divorce in Texas. The state allows divorce based on both “fault” and “no-fault” grounds. .) If you file for a fault-based divorce, you’ll claim that your spouse was to blame for the end of the marriage by engaging in a certain type of misconduct . In a no-fault divorce, neither spouse accuses the other of wrongdoing.
The most commonly used no-fault divorce ground in Texas is that the marriage has become “insupportable” because of conflict or clash of personalities, and it’s not reasonable to expect that you could reconcile. You may also file for a no-fault divorce based on being separated, but in that case you and your spouse must have lived apart for at least three years without cohabitation . .)
It’s highly unlikely that you’d qualify for an uncontested divorce in Texas if you file for divorce using a fault-based ground. This is because your spouse would likely balk at the accusation of fault, which would hamperif not outright eradicateany chance of settling your case. Remember, if any aspect of your case is in dispute, the court won’t consider the case uncontested.
Not Known Facts About Easy Divorce Online Texas Uncontested Divorce Cost
Michigan, which enhances the waiting duration from 2 months to 6 months when the celebrations have minor children, is a noteworthy exception to this. Easy divorce. Texas uncontested divorce cost. A mandatory waiting duration must not be puzzled with the time set aside for the non-filing partner to react to, or response the divorce documents. While obligatory waiting durations are developed to maintain marital relationships by offering couples time to reconsider divorce, the time for responding to provides the non-filing spouse a certain amount of time to submit a Response and/or employ an attorney, if he or she does not concur with the divorce and/or the terms asked for by the filing partner in the divorce petition.
Thirty days after the hearing, a Guideline Nisi Divorce Judgment is entered, but the Final Judgment is not signed by the Judge until 90 days after that. Michigan60 days/180 days with children, You must wait 60 days from the filing date if you have no small children together. If you have small children together, you must wait 180 days from the filing date. Easy divorce in california.
Also Check: Best Divorce Lawyers In Ct
How Much Does A Divorce Lawyer Cost In Houston
The average hourly rate for a divorce lawyer in Houston is $300 per hour. You can expect that the hourly rate can vary depending on the experience of the attorney as well as the particular details of your case.
If you hire a Houston divorce lawyer for an uncontested divorce without any children or property, you might only be looking at a flat fee starting from about $850 However, if youre embroiled in a contested case, it will typically cost no less than $15,000 in Houston.
What Factors Can Affect The Texas Divorce Timeline
Disagreements over any of the issues listed above can make your divorce take additional time.
Whether or not you hire a Texas divorce attorney, it takes time to gather evidence to support your side of a disagreement with your spouse. In addition, if you have to resolve your disagreements with a trial, court delays can extend the process even more.
Don’t Miss: What Happens If You Don T Pay Alimony
What Is The Cost Of Divorce In Texas
The average cost of divorce in Texas without children is $15,600, according to a 2020 study by 24/7 Wall St. If you have children, you would have to spend much more to finalize your divorce in Texas. The average cost of a divorce with children is $23,500. In terms of the cost of a divorce, Texas ranked the 5th most expensive state.
However, a divorce is never a one-size-fits-all scenario. There are a number of factors that affect the cost of a divorce. Thats why it is essential to speak with a lawyer to determine how much a divorce would cost in your particular situation.
As a rule of thumb, contested divorces cost much more than uncontested ones. Basically, the more disputed issues your divorce has, the more it would cost. If you are worried about the cost of a Texas divorce, consult with a skilled attorney to find out how you can save on legal fees and lower the cost of your divorce.
Why Not Hire A Cheaper Divorce Lawyer Like One From Craigslist Because Not All Uncontested Divorces Are Created Equal:
|Cook & Cook|
|Up to 7 Hours of Client Support, at no added charge*||Yes||?|
*Timeline requires full cooperation from both spouses, and does not apply to default divorce cases, where a spouse is missing.
**We cannot guarantee that a court will accept our motion to waive your hearing.
***If case is extremely simple estate, a reviewing attorney will not be used, and only a drafting attorney will handle case.
****This 7 hours can include phone time to explain divorce law, or back and forth to revise your decree as you need, or just plainly explaining the divorce process to you. You would be surprised how much support you might want, as you go through your divorce, and we are here to help.
Don’t Miss: Is It Better To File For Divorce First
Will You Fight In Court
Divorces that go to trial are often very expensive. What makes them expensive is the time spent in multiple mediations and having to go to Temporary Orders Hearing. Preparing your case for trial will also take several additional hours. Remember, in certain cases you will be paying your lawyer an hourly rate.
Filing Fees And Costs
There are expenses that will need to be paid for in every divorce, and these expenses are charged to you at cost. For example, the initial filing for a divorce is between $300-$400, this cost would be passed on to you at cost.
You can usually expect to pay any filing or service fees that we must pay to the court or process server.
Additionally, you may also incur other fees such as transcript fees, expert witness fees, and mediators fees. We generally do not charge for things like photocopies, long distance phone calls, postage, or faxes.
Most divorce lawyers will provide you with an itemized accounting of any expenses, such as the court filing fees, deposition transcripts, and expert witness fees.
Don’t Miss: Divorce Lawyers In Griffin Ga
Simple Techniques For Easy Divorce Online Cost Of An Uncontested Divorce In Texas
Michigan, which improves the waiting duration from 2 months to six months when the celebrations have minor children, is a notable exception to this. Fast florida divorce. Cost of an uncontested divorce in texas. A mandatory waiting period should not be confused with the time set aside for the non-filing partner to react to, or response the divorce documents. While necessary waiting durations are created to maintain marriages by offering couples time to rethink divorce, the time for addressing offers the non-filing partner a particular amount of time to file a Response and/or hire an attorney, if he or she does not concur with the divorce and/or the terms asked for by the filing partner in the divorce petition.
Thirty days after the hearing, a Rule Nisi Divorce Judgment is gotten in, but the Last Judgment is not signed by the Judge until 90 days after that. Michigan60 days/180 days with kids, You should wait 60 days from the filing date if you have no small kids together. If you have minor children together, you should wait 180 days from the filing date. How to get a fast divorce.
How Much Does A Pro Se Divorce Cost
At Simple Texas Divorce, we offer the following packages for Texas pro se divorce:
Additional services on an as-needed basis include:
- Qualified Domestic Relations Order $700*
- Complex Property Division $200*
- Deed of Trust to Secure Assumption $125*
- Power of Attorney to Transfer Motor Vehicle $75*
*Please note that none of these plans include the Court filing fees in the price. Additional filing fees may be required.
Also Check: How To Avoid Paying Alimony In California
What Other Costs Should I Know About In A Texas Divorce
Attorneys fees are definitely the big-ticket item when it comes to the cost of divorce, but its important to understand the additional costs so you can budget accordingly.
One major cost that many divorcing couples dont give enough weight to is the cost of their time. The more complicated your divorce is, the more time its going to take to finalize your divorce.
Some of the additional fees you should be aware of when getting divorced in Texas include:
- Court filing fees
- Potential lost income from work
- Rent deposit or the down payment on a new place to live
- Travel expenses
- Expert witness fees
There are also other costs that are less tangible but very real when it comes to getting divorced. For example, dissolving your marriage can be an incredibly emotional experience and deeply stressful. This can leave you feeling un-centered and a lot less on top of the ball than normal. In these instances, its easy to pick up small additional expenses that add up over time, such as getting take-out more often than usual or getting ill and missing work.
While the cheapest way to get a divorce is definitely to pursue an agreed divorce, this isnt always possible. In fact, in some instances, a vindictive or uncooperative spouse might use sneaky divorce tactics to drag out the case and increase your lawyer fees.
Q How Much Can I Expect To Pay For My Divorce Attorney
Hourly rates mean very little if you dont know how long your case is going to take. The median attorney fees for a divorce are about $7,000. However, if your case involves aggravating factors like child support litigation or an exceptionally large amount of assets, your attorney will need to bill you for more hours.
It is important to remember that your attorney will not be the only court-related expense in your divorce. You will also incur court costs, filing fees, and numerous other expenses associated with divorce. The median price for these additional expenses rests around $500.
Don’t Miss: How To Sue For Alimony
Obtain Expert Help With Your Texas Uncontested Divorce Today
If you need further assistance, you may want to hire an online divorce formation company to complete the paperwork for you. Their experts are knowledgeable about the divorce process and will help you fill out any required paperwork for an uncontested divorce.
Legal Disclaimer: This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation and should not be interpreted as creating an attorney-client relationship. If you have legal questions, you should seek the advice of an attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.