Not Known Facts About Easy Divorce Online How To File For Uncontested Divorce In California
In Louisiana and Virginia, for example, the separation requirement doubles from six months to one year when the parties have small kids together. See: Can You Get Divorced While Living Together for separation requirements for each state. Exists a mandatory waiting period prior to we can get a divorce? How to file for uncontested divorce in california. In the states that have one, the necessary waiting duration generally varies from 30-90 days, although even in states that do not have a mandatory waiting duration, it might still take that long to finalize the divorce because the judges schedule controls how quickly your case proceeds .
Usually though, courts administer uncontested divorce cases quickly when the appropriate documents is submitted in a timely way . In some states, mandatory waiting durations are longer when the parties have small kids together, the theory being that there are advantages when kids have the ability to grow up in a home with both parents and for that factor, additional time should be provided to the choice to end the marital relationship.
How To Start Your California Divorce Process
To begin your divorce process in California, you must complete the appropriate divorce papers. These can all be obtained online at the California Courts site. The state does offer instructions for filling out each of these forms, which you should review carefully before entering any information. It is extremely important that everything is filled out correctly if you want to avoid time consuming delays in the divorce process.
The divorce forms required by California are standardized for the most part across the state, but keep in mind that some counties will require additional documentation. You will need to determine which forms your county requires as defined by your local courthouse. It would be prudent to contact the local courthouse by phone to ensure that you are using all the correct forms.
To determine which divorce documents are appropriate for you, different California counties offer Self-Help Centers, where you can get assistance pertaining to your situation. You pick your county from the list, and then you will get further information and contacts to find out what steps you should take. Depending on the center, you may be able to contact qualified assistance by phone, email or in person.
Should I Meet With An Attorney
An attorney can be a very valuable tool in the preparation for divorce, and consulting with one provides an opportunity for you to understand your rights and obligations. The decisions you make in the beginning of the process will set the tone of your case, dictate the path, and determine the ultimate outcome. Make sure you obtain as much information as possible about the divorce process, what to expect in your divorce, and how you protect yourself.
Recommended Reading: When Is Alimony Considered Late
The Importance Of Filing An Answer To A Divorce Petition
If you do not file an answer within 28 days of the court filing your petition, the court will assume that you agree with everything your spouse says and issue an default judgment. You can request more time if you need it for an urgent reason, such as if you need a lawyer or are in the hospital. When your spouse does not respond, the court may enter a default, which means that the divorce will proceed without your spouses involvement. In the event that you request an order with a Request for Order, you must serve all documents at least 16 days before the court date unless a different deadline is specified.
Gather All Necessary Documents
Once youve filed your divorce paperwork with the court clerk, get someone over the age of 18 to serve these blank divorce forms to your spouse:
If the responding spouse does not serve his or her financial disclosure forms to the petitioning spouse, the responding spouse loses their rights to speak about matters relating to these forms in front of a judge.
Also Check: Is It Better To File For Divorce First
How To Serve Divorce Papers By Mail In New York
Can you serve divorce papers by mail in New York? If you live in New York, you can serve divorce papers by mail. There are a few things to keep in mind, but its okay to keep a few things in mind. The first reason to serve papers to your spouse in a way that ensures their reach is that mail is unpredictable, so serving papers in this manner may be difficult. There are options for receiving the papers, but it may take longer if it is certified mail. You could also hire a friend to serve the papers on your behalf. You must, however, appoint a person over the age of 18 who has been authorized by you to serve the papers.
What Does ‘serving’ Your Spouse With Divorce Papers Mean
The law affords everyone due process. In other words, before you can sue someone, you must first tell them what you want and why. Yes divorce is a lawsuit. Your spouse must therefore receive a notice that you have filed suit and notice of what exactly you are suing them for.
Put simply, you must tell your spouse the legal reason behind your divorce request. If you do not get your spouse properly served, your case could be delayed.
Recommended Reading: How To File For Divorce In Wi
When Should I File For Temporary Orders
There isnt a right or wrong time to file for temporary orders. You can file as soon as your divorce case is open, and the key is to be very honest with yourself regarding the direction of your case. Many people hesitate to file for temporary orders because theyre afraid of going to court, or they think that its too expensive to do so. Fear is a terrible basis for decision-making, and the decisions you make in your divorce have very real and long-term effects on you, your children, and your family. Therefore, its important to make well-educated decisions that are based on what is best for your situation.
Unless your situation is a true emergency that could not have been predicted, it typically takes anywhere from 8 10 weeks before a judge will hear your case for temporary orders. Given these kind of timelines, its important for you to plan accordingly. For example, if you know you are going to run out of savings and will need support, dont wait until your bank account is at a zero balance before filing. Plan ahead and understand that the court system is not going to automatically work on your schedule.
The Divorce Filing Date
The date of filing a divorce is a representation of a persons intent to dissolve a marriage. Specifically, a divorce is considered filed on the date the court stamps the petition and assigns the matter a case number. However, this date has no direct relationship with the marriages termination date, which is based on the date of service of the summons and petition.
The earliest date a party can be divorced is six months plus 1 day from the date 1) the respondent is served with the divorce papers, 2) the respondent files a response, or the 3) when the parties file an appearance, stipulation and waiver whichever comes first.
Read Also: How Long Does Alimony Last In Florida
Where To Get Divorce Papers
There are several ways of obtaining divorce documents in the state of California.
- Get divorce papers from an attorney in law
- Download divorce forms for free from the California Self-Help website
- Acquire divorce documents from the local Family Law Facilitators office in person
- Get ready-to-sign papers from an online divorce company.
All the ways of acquiring divorce forms have their pros and cons.
The use of an attorney’s service can lead to more expenses than expected. If a petitioner downloads papers from the California Self-Help website, there is a high chance of overlooking the required papers. Finally, personally approaching a Family Law Facilitators office can be a hassle.
California Online Divorce provides users with an online questionnaire to determine the cases specifics, select suitable forms, and fill them out following local requirements. As a result, a person gets ready-to-sign divorce documents in 2 business days.
Its cheap, doesnt take long, and spouses dont have to go anywhere. The website also offers state-specific step-by-step filing instructions as a bonus.
Serving Divorce Papers In California
The petitioner has an obligation to make sure that the other spouse known as the respondent gets a copy of any divorce papers filed with the court. This helps to ensure that both spouses are fully aware of whats going on and that each has the opportunity to participate in the process. This is achieved using a process called Service.
The state of California has strict rules about how divorce papers can be served. Deviating from these set procedures can delay the divorce process and really complicate matters. Its very important to make sure that your divorce papers are served properly.
Initially, divorce papers typically to be delivered through personal service. This means that the respondent has to be physically handed copies of the summons and other paperwork. You cant serve the divorce papers yourself. You have to hire a professional server or have an uninterested third party serve the papers on your behalf.
It can make sense to hire a professional process server if you suspect that your spouse will resist your efforts to get a divorce.
You may also be able to use an alternative form of service such as service by mail if your spouse agrees.
Don’t Miss: States With Highest Divorce Rates
How Are The Papers Served
The answer to this question largely depends on the type of relationship you have with your spouse and what kind of statement you want to make with service. Assuming there is no domestic violence and no reason to believe that your spouse will go out of his or her way to avoid being served, it may be a good idea to have a conversation with your spouse about service. In general, there are two ways of serving your spouse: personal service, and mail with notice and acknowledgment of receipt.
Personal service happens when your server personally hands your spouse the divorce papers and blank response form or forms. That doesnt mean it has to be a surprise or done in an embarrassing manner, as the date and time of service can be scheduled. You do not have to serve your spouse in a public venue, such as their place of employment. Embarrassing your spouse or trying to inflict pain is rarely a good choice. While it may make you feel better initially, you may come to regret your decision when it causes further conflict and increased litigation. Finally, at all costs, avoid having your spouse served in front of your children.
Think of service as opportunity to write the first chapter of your new life. Every decision you make is another part of your story. Do you want it to be filled with conflict and regret? Or, do you want to be able to look back and feel confident that you went about this process respectfully and with dignity?
How Can A Private Process Server Help
Getting process served correctly matters. There are strict procedures that must be followed, and these change from state to state. Hiring a professional can save you time, money, and it makes the process efficient and smooth. It can also help to deflate potential conflicts that may arise in sensitive situations. Alternative service options depend on whether your spouse is cooperative and willing to comply. A process server, on the other hand, will ensure fast delivery and will provide an affidavit of service to prove service was completed.
In most cases, a private process server has served hundreds of papers to evasive individuals throughout their careers. They are knowledgeable about the legal framework surrounding process service and are proficient at finding individuals who do not want to be served.
Additionally, process servers can handle sensitive situations, such as when children, shared assets, and finances are implicated. The legal process counts on your divorce petition being served accurately and within a specific time frame. Entrusting the professionals is the fastest way to get your divorce process underway. If you need fast and smooth process service at an affordable price, contact D& R Legal for a completely supported divorce.
Recommended Reading: Do You Have To Pay Taxes On Alimony
What Happens After Service
Your spouse has 30 calendar days after service to formally respond to the divorce by filing a Response and if applicable, the UCCJEA . While you are waiting for your spouse to respond, we suggest that you start on your financial disclosures. For more information on how to complete your financial disclosures, please see Step 5: Temporary Orders.
Who Serves Divorce Papers In Florida
In Florida, the petitioner must serve the divorce papers on the respondent . The papers must be served in person by a sheriff, a private process server, or by the petitioner. The respondent then has 20 days to file a response to the divorce petition.
Divorces are considered civil lawsuits under the category of civil law. A process known as service of process is used to deliver legal papers. Failure to adhere to the rules of service may result in your case being dismissed and you being forced to start over. Florida residents can file for divorce using a variety of methods. A personal copy of the papers may be served to the respondents at any time. If the respondent lives in another county, you must have a private process server or the sheriff in the county where he or she lives serve the papers to them. In each county, there are numerous companies that specialize in the service of process.
In California, service by proxy is a simple and inexpensive way to file for divorce. There are so many people unaware of their ability to do so. Whether you are a relative, coworker, friend, or professional process server, you can always rely on someone else to serve your papers. If the other party does not respond to the papers, the case is automatically made default. If this occurs, the petitioner may request that the divorce be entered against the other party. If you are ready to get divorced, this is a simple and cost-effective process that you should take advantage of.
Don’t Miss: Do You Pay Taxes On Alimony
What If My Spouse Won’t Take The Papers
- If the person delivering the papers tries to hand them to your spouse but your spouse won’t take them, it may be good enough to drop the papers at your spouse’s feet, if the person delivering the papers can identify the person as your spouse and says to your spouse that these are court papers for a divorce. The judge will decide whether this is good enough.
How To Serve Divorce Papers Is Personal Service The Best Choice
Certain circumstances do make personal service of divorce papers through a register process service the best choice.
These circumstances include situations where there’s a reasonable belief that the other spouse will evade service, where immediate service is necessary because immediate orders such as child custody and visitation, child support and spousal support or other protective orders need to be sought, or where there is an urgency because the other spouse may immediately file a divorce action in another jurisdiction, such as another county or state.
If circumstances such as these do not exist, then you and your divorce attorney should discuss whether personal service will upset the other spouse or make him or her feel that you have unfairly started a divorce process without communicating with him or her or without even first attempting to reach some resolution on core family issues.
What are these core issues? They include:
You May Like: How Does Alimony Work In Ny
What Are The Disadvantages To Serving Discovery
In general, discovery is one of the most expensive investments in a divorce. Not only does it cost money to prepare and serve discovery, but it also takes a substantial amount of time to review the documents and other answers to the discovery. If you subpoena records, you will likely have to pay the third partys time and cost for providing the documents to you.
In addition to cost, discovery is often considered to be an act of war. Whenever you serve discovery, you should be prepared for your spouse to retaliate with the same requests and interrogatories. This may ultimately increase the conflict and tension.
Finally, discovery can be abused. Some people can use this tool as a weapon, and so long as it is masked under a guise of being relevant, you will have little protection from the law.
What Is The Uccjea
The Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act, commonly known as the UCCJEA , is a mandatory California divorce form. It is a document that allows the judge to make sure that California has jurisdiction to make custody and visitation orders. In order for a California judge to be able to make these orders, the children must be residents of California. The pleading also clarifies whether or not there are other custody and visitation orders already in existence from another kind of case, such as a guardianship or juvenile matter.
For assistance on completing this form, please watch our video.
Don’t Miss: How Does Alimony Work In California